Can vegetarians eat fish | In some cases “YES”

can vegans eat breadCan vegetarians eat fish? Let’s be clear. The vegetarian diet is chosen by those who, for ethical reasons, are against modern intensive animal husbandry (but also against genetically modified foods). Besides not eating meat, vegetarians do not buy or eat foods produced by the “intensive system”. Nor do they include in their diet any food packed and produced by this system (savoury pies, sweets…). So, can vegetarians eat fish? The answer in this case is “NO”. Vegetarians cannot eat any kind of meat, including fish. Many people believe that vegetarians can eat fish, but it doesn’t.

Any type of meat, including fish and shellfish, is excluded from this diet. Vegetarians do not consume industrial products, preferring quality products, often organic. But there are a large number of “semi-vegetarian” diets that consist in excluding only red meat and eating fish and poultry. In these contexts we speak of a partial vegetarian diet because the “consumer” chooses to exclude from his diet only the meat. When the vegetarian diet involves fish. In this case who excludes red meat and poultry from his diet, but continues to eat fish is called “pescetarian”.

Ovo-vegetarian

Can vegetarians eat fish if Ovo-vegetarian? There are variations in the canonical vegetarian diet. There are in fact Ovo-vegetarian who include eggs in the diet but not dairy products. And there are Ovo-vegetarians who include dairy products but not eggs. In general, the Ovo-vegetarians, excludes only meat from his diet, but continues to feed with animal derivatives. So, can Ovo-vegetarian eat fish? The answer in this case is “NO”.

They’re the most numerous. They do not eat any kind of animal (included meat and fish) but consume animal products, such as milk, dairy products and eggs. Those who opt for a vegetarian diet as mentioned are encouraged to do so on ethical grounds. Considering the ethical implications in the production of milk and eggs, the next step should necessarily be VEGANISM.

Lacto Vegetarian

Can vegetarians eat fish if Lacto Vegetarian? This is a form of vegetarianism that excludes meat foods and its derivatives, eggs and derivatives, fish, shellfish and crustaceans. This type of vegetarian diet allows only the milk and its derivatives, and any type of vegetable food. This type of diet is quite correct from a nutritional point of view, as it has as its main source of protein a food like MILK. Which provides our body with “noble” proteins, rich in essential amino acids. In the vegetarian diet, unlike vegan or vegetable diets, there is no need to pay much attention to the combination of foods.

As the intake of essential amino acids is guaranteed by the milk and dairy products. Lacto Vegetarian diet and vegetarian diets in general, have a high intake of fiber, that with a good amount of water, helps the health of the intestine and the whole body. Let’s not forget that vegetables are an excellent source of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. The vegetables have an alkalizing effect, which counteracts the acidifying effect generated by the meat. The only disadvantage of this type of diet can be given by the excessive consumption of cheese, it can be rich in saturated fat and cholesterol.

Macrobiotic diet

Can vegetarians eat fish if follow a macrobiotic diet? The answer in this case is “YES”. Macrobiotics is a diet based on the consumption of whole grains and vegetables. Excluding industrial foods (such as white sugar, sweetened drinks), and limits the foods of animal origin. The macrobiotic diet, if performed in an inaccurate way, can also lead to nutritional deficiencies. By choosing the food properly, it would be possible to achieve a state of “harmony” for body and mind that improves the quality of life.

Macrobiotic foods include unrefined cereals ( brown rice, buckwheat, millet, barley, corn, oats, rye), and some vegetables, such as carrots, turnips, cabbage, onions, roots and algae. Vegetables should make up a quarter of the diet, but asparagus, fennel, spinach, aubergines, tomatoes, potatoes and zucchini should be avoided. Drinks include Chinese or Japanese tea, chicory and root infusions. Particular attention is paid to the method of cooking. Steam cooking is preferred, especially for vegetables.

The macrobiotic diet does not allow you to eat meat (except game, birds, fish and shellfish), meats, eggs, dairy products, butter and margarine. It is also forbidden to eat: canned or frozen foods, refined flour and rice, foods with additives. Sweeteners such as honey, sugar and saccharin. No chocolate, coffee, vinegar, tropical fruit and juices, soda and alcohol. Spices and common salt should never be used, but only natural sea salt.

Conclusion

Those who follow the natural alimentation take into account the real nature of the human physiology. Which is frugivorous and not omnivorous, and generally does not assume products of animal origin. Mostly natural food is followed for health reasons, so ,unlike those who make an ethical choice, it is not always consistent with the principles to which it refers.

You May Also Like: Can vegans eat bread